Who We Are

Bay Area Housing Corporation primarily serves people with intellectual/developmental disabilities and their families.

A “developmental disability” is a condition that originates before an individual reaches age 18; continues, or can be expected to continue indefinitely; and constitutes a substantial impairment in three or more areas of major life activity. Areas of major life activity include self-care, receptive and expressive language, learning, mobility, self-direction, capacity for independent living, and economic self-sufficiency. Substantial impairment reflects the person’s need for a combination of special, interdisciplinary, or generic support services.

Vision Mission Values


Bay Area Housing Corporation and Affiliates

Return of Organization Exempt From Income Tax


The regional centers serve as a local resource to help find and access the services and support available to individuals with I/DD and their families. There are 21 regional centers that work with the Department of Development Services.

The California Department of Developmental Services (DDS) is the agency through which the State of California provides services and supports to individuals with developmental disabilities. These disabilities include mental retardation, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism and related conditions. Services are provided through state-operated developmental centers and community facilities, and contracts with 21 nonprofit regional centers.

Lanterman Act and Related Laws

California Early Intervention Services Act

San Andreas Regional Center (SARC) serves Santa Clara, San Benito, Santa Cruz Counties, and Monterey Counties.

Golden Gate Regional Center (GGRC) serves Marin, San Francisco, and San Mateo Counties.

Regional Center of the East Bay (RCEB) serves Alameda and Contra Costa Counties.

"One Home at a Time"
Bay Area Housing Corp | | 408.395.5100 | | Footer Logo